Clubs

Interested in what clubs are offered here at Mountain Island Charter School for middle and high school students?
 
Art Club "True Colors"
Advisor: Dawn Strouse at dstrouse@micharter.org
1st & 3rd Tuesdays from 2:30 pm to 3:15 pm in Room C113
Thank you for your interest in being part of the arts community here at the MICS. This club is for middle and high school students. True Colors Art Club is a place for practicing artists to hone in on their skills, develop their techniques and portfolios, collaborate with other artists like themselves, create bonds with the community through the arts, and learn how to work together through group projects that will beautify the school and community. We look forward to your participation in True Colors Art Club this year!
 
Best Buddies
Advisor: Aapri Washington at awashington@micharter.org
 
FCA (Fellowship of Christian Athletes)
MS Advisor: Joy Alston at jalston@micharter.org
 
HS Advisor: Toni Stallings at tstallings@micharter.org
Friday Mornings at 7:00 pm in Room C227
Fellowship of Christian Athletes . We fellowship and do a devotion each week. The first meeting will be the Friday after Labor Day.
 
Girls Who Code
Advisor: Rebecca Ivanov at rivanov@micharter.org
 
Interact
Advisor: Renee Goodwin at rgoodwin@micharter.org
The Interact Club will meet the 1st Thursday of each month 2:35-3:15
Interact Clubs are an important branch of the greater Rotary youth programs that invite high school students to get important chances to develop leadership skills while also focusing on the Rotary credo of "Service-Above-Self." The Mountain Island Charter chapter of Interact Club allows students to work together and be a part of many different community service programs and initiatives.
 

International Thespian Society

Advisor: Dave Ward at Dave Ward
International Thespian Society (10-12) $45 annual fee.  This is for students who are passionate about all levels of theatre.  You will join an international community of performers who work to not only do excellent arts, but promote arts in the greater community.  At MICS the ITS chapter is the main vehicle of student leadership for performing arts on campus.  The officers help to set the agendas and to select shows for performance.  There is an initiation for students who want to join where they must have proved their active participation on campus.  Generally, ITS students are involved in many on campus events so the meeting times will vary.  Interest meetings or general meetings will be announced in the Raptor Call and MICS announcements.
 
Key Club
Advisor: Tonya Tolson at ttolson@micharter.org
Key Club is an international, student-led organization that provides its members with opportunities to provide service, build character and develop leadership. High school student members of Key Club perform acts of service in their communities, such as cleaning up parks, collecting clothing and organizing food drives. They also learn leadership skills by running meetings, planning projects and holding elected leadership positions at the club, district and international levels.
Math Olympiad
Advisor: Nicole Simonette at nsimonette@micharter.org
 
Musical Productions
Fall Production Advisor: Jessi Clarkson at jclarkson@micharter.org
 
Spring Production Advisor: Dave Ward at dward@micharter.org
 
National Honor Society
Advisor: Monica Belus at mbelus@micharter.org
 
National Junior Honor Society
Advisor: Kelley Cook at kcook@micharter.org
Mountain Island Charter School’s National Junior Honors Society is a club that is open to those students who meet the required standards in five areas of evaluation: scholarship, service, leadership, character, and citizenship. Students who meet the scholarship criteria of a 3.25 GPA will receive a candidate questionnaire with more details of club expectations. The questions on this form will help us determine how well a candidate meets the other 4 standards of the club. Students are selected for membership by majority vote of a five-member principal-appointed faculty council, which bestows this honor upon qualified students on behalf of the faculty of our school. Once inducted into the club students are expected to attend monthly meetings and participate in club sponsored service projects put on throughout the school year. Induction for 7th and 8th graders will be in the fall and induction for 6th graders will be held in the spring.
 
Pep Band
Advisor: Samantha Goolsby at sgoolsby@micharter.org
 
Robotics (High School)
Advisor: Janet Rielley at jrielley@micharter.org  Mrs. Fuentes at afuentes@micharter.org 
Meets every Tuesday from 6:00-8:30 pm in the High School Science Lab
Please contact Mrs. Rielley at 704-898-2300 or Mrs. Fuentes at 704-249-9370 prior to the meeting to enter the building. During competition season (Jan-Apr) the team meets more often. We are a team under the guidance of First Robotics Competition (FRC): Combining the excitement of sport with the rigors of science and technology. Our industry mentors helps students through teamwork in designing and building a robot to tackle various obstacles for competition season. Students who have never used a tool before have found this to be an exciting and valuable experience. Students learn t use hand tools, power tools, in addition to learning how to wire electronics for motors and sensors, plus programming code to drive the robot; besides having fun and building teamwork. We also have a  need for students interested in Computer-aided design and marketing expertise to become part of the team to promote our mission and STEM opportunities to others.
 
Student Government
Middle School facilitators: Joy Alston and Rebecca Ivanov
 
High School: Toni Stallings
High School Student Government works within the school community to foster school spirit through planning pep rallies, dances, spirit themes, homecoming and penny wars and more. If you are interested in being a member of this group, stay tuned for the application window for officers and/or representatives mid-August and early September. Members are required to have a 3.0 GPA, attend all meetings and be an active participant in committees and afterschool activities. 
 
Tabletop Gaming
Advisor: Amanda Scales at ascales@micharter.org
 
Unity Council
Advisor: Barb O'Donnell at bodonnell@micharter.org
Meets every other Tuesday during lunch.
Unity Council is a 6-12 club whose goal is to help create a more inclusive school community here at MICS.  Structured after the Sandy Hook Promise SAVE (students against violence everywhere) clubs, we aim to promote awareness, share information, and create a space where all students feel seen, heard and welcomed.
 
 
Students are welcome to start a club under the leadership of a staff member.  Contact Gerald Herbert at gherbert@micharter.org